Main Image


Howard Bell Award

The Howard Bell award was created to recognize outstanding lifetime achievements and contributions in the area of outdoor education. Any member of AEOE may submit a nomination form to the Board of Directors for this annual award. Nominees do not necessarily have to be an AEOE member. Past honorees can be viewed below. 
Nominations are due by January 31st of each year and are kept on file for three years for future consideration. The award is presented at the annual spring conference and the awardee must be able to attend the conference.
Deadline to Submit for consideration in 2020 is January 31st, 2020.

Pictured: 2005 Howard Bell Honoree, Marty Rigby (flannel)

Organization of the Year Award

The Organization of the Year Award was created to recognize organizations that are advancing the impact of environmental and outdoor education in California by offering innovative programs, following best practices, promoting equitable access, and/or providing professional development opportunities. Any person can nominate an organization for this award.  Nominees do not need to be AEOE Institutional Members.

Nominations are kept on file for one year for future consideration. Each award winner will be chosen by the AEOE Board of Directors and recognized at the annual Spring Statewide Conference.

Organization of the Year Nomination Form - Click Here

Environmental Educator of the Year Award
The Environmental Educator of the Year Award is awarded to one representative from the Northern and Southern California area annually. This award is given to someone who is still currently teaching in the field and loving it, someone who has contributed to the success of Environmental Education in the state, and leads by example within the field.

Nominations are accepted all year and the awards are presented at the fall conferences. The recipient must be an active member of AEOE and attend the fall conference.

Environmental Educator of the Year Nomination Form - Click Here