Association for Environmental & Outdoor education

Annual Awards

Environmental Educator of the Year Award
The Environmental Educator of the Year Award is awarded to one representative from the Northern and Southern California area annually. This award is given to someone who is still currently teaching in the field and loving it, someone who has contributed to the success of Environmental Education in the state, and leads by example within the field.

Nominations are accepted all year and the awards are presented at the fall conferences. The award winner must attend the fall conference. Past awards can be viewed below. 

Environmental Educator of the Year 2021 Nomination Form - Click Here

Click here to see past EE'ers of the year!

Howard Bell Award

The Howard Bell award – named after one of AEOE's founding members and an influential leader in the advancement of outdoor education in California – was created to recognize outstanding lifetime achievements and contributions in the area of environmental and outdoor education. Any member of AEOE may submit a nomination form to the Board of Directors for this annual award. Nominees do not necessarily have to be an AEOE member. Past honorees can be viewed below. 

Nominations are due by January 31st of each year and are kept on file for three years for future consideration. The award is presented at the annual spring conference and the awardee must be able to attend the conference.

Deadline to submit a nomination for consideration in 2021 is April 1st, 2021.

Howard Bell Award Nomination - Click Here

Click here to see past Howard Bell Award Winners!

Organization of the Year Award (new in 2021!)

AEOE, in partnership with Ten Strands and the California Environmental Literacy Initiative (CAELI), is pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2021 Environmental Education Organization of the Year Award. This award, given annually, will recognize an outstanding organization that is advancing the impact of environmental and outdoor education in California in a meaningful way. These organizations may offer innovative programs, follow research-based best practices, and/or promote equitable access to environmental learning. Please help us celebrate the organizations working to advance our field by sharing this opportunity and submitting a nomination below.

Any person can nominate an organization for this award and nominees do not need to be AEOE Organizational Members. Nominations are kept on file for one year for future consideration. Each award winner will be chosen by the AEOE Awards Committee (including a representative from Ten Strands) and recognized at the annual Spring Statewide Conference.

Deadline to submit a nomination for consideration in 2021 is April 1st, 2021.

Organization of the Year Nomination Form - Click Here

Awards Given to AEOE

In 2019 AEOE was named Outstanding Affiliate of the year by the North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE). AEOE serves as California's affiliate of NAAEE.

AEOE has also achieved the following recognition:   


Mailing Address: 2066 N. Capitol Ave., Suite 3028, San Jose, CA 95132

AEOE is a 501(c)(3) non-profit 

© 2021 All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software